you can’t stop the beat!

.

I got to dance yesterday.

And . . .

today too!

Such a rarity. Two days in a row! Bryan’s broadway on Wednesday and Jessica’s contemporary jazz today. Enjoyed both classes especially broadway which is one of those classes where regardless of technical ability, age or gender, you will be guaranteed a whole hour of absolute fun and the chance to strut, pout and shimmy like a diva. So fun and flamboyant! My secret inner Vegas showgirl is shrieking with delight!

Many years ago, during a job orientation, the new employees were asked to introduce themselves and state a little known fact about them. I clearly remember saying this, “My name is Suraiya. I like to dance and I hope to be able to perform in a musical someday.”

Naive but honest. It came from the heart yo.

I LOVED all the musicals I’ve watched. Its one of things that you have an innate attraction to. One of those things, for me, are musicals. And even though I have set aside my budget in the coming month for medical fees, a new phone (no choice. the old one is on life support.) and absolute necessities, I am willing to spend on a Chicago ticket and starve (okay fine. eat less.) for a bit.

Anyway, because the chance for classes are so rare to come by, I treasure every bit and think of it as possibly my last one in a long while. I hold back less and I am learning to smile. (Those who know me well will rejoice!)

So I am satiated. And till the next time I shake my thang, my deprived self and I will live on the high I had from these two days.

.

PS. My starjump? Far from twinkling. I look like I’m hopping over a large drain, sideways.

.

.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment